Transfigured Night

CMLA’SMusic Box
August 9, 2021

Transfigured Night
with James Conlon

Maestro James Conlon is joined by soprano Liv Redpath and members of the LA Opera Orchestra for a unique video presentation that explores the mysterious connection between two works by brothers-in-law Alexander Zemlinsky and Arnold Schönberg, both scored for string sextet and based on texts by the same poet, Richard Dehmel. The video is 50', with German and English subtitles.


Alexander Zemlinsky:
Maiblumen blühten überall (May flowers bloomed everywhere)
Arnold Schönberg:
Verkläerte Nacht (Transfigured Night)


James Conlon, host and conductor
Liv Redpath, soprano
Roberto Cani, violin
Ana Landauer, violin
Shawn Mann, viola
Robert Brophy, viola
John Walz, cello
Michael Kaufman, cello

This program is made possible in part by a grant from the City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs.